Cooperative movement flag

Although it was proposed at the ICA II Congress in 1896, is in 1921 when the International Cooperative Alliance starts using the rainbow’s colors as a symbol of unity and diversity, on the International Cooperative Flag.

The flag contains red, orange, green, yellow, sky blue, dark blue and violet colors in horizontal stripes and in 1925, when the flag becomes official, ICA decides to place the red color above.

It adopts the rainbow, symbolizing the ideals and goals of universal peace, unity that overcomes the political, economic, social, racial or religious differences and the hope of humanity in a better world where freedom, personal dignity, social justice and solidarity reigns.






Red: stands for courage

Oranje: offers the vision of possibilities

Yellow: represents the challenge that green has kindled

Green: indicates the challenge to strive for membership growth and understanding of the aims and values of cooperation

Sky blue: suggests far horizons, the need to provide education and help less fortunate people and strive towards global unity

Dark blue: represents the less fortunate people who can learn to help themselves through cooperation

Violet: represents warmth, beauty and friendship

During the 2001 ICA Congress, was agreed to change the traditional flag to avoid confusion with other movements that had been adopting similar flags. The design made in 1995 to mark the centenary of ICA is chosen. The flag consists of a white background and in the center pigeons out of a rainbow in the first six colors and the acronym in the latest color… violet.

Due to the 2012 International Year of Cooperatives declared by the UN, a new insign was designed with COOP word.

This entry was posted in NEWS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Es buena


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *